Tag Archives: Darrell Wallace Jr.

Johnny Sauter will Start the Lucas Oil 225 at Chicagoland at the Front

Johnny Sauter will lead the field to green Friday September 12th in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Lucas Oil 225 at Chicagoland Speedway.

The Camping World Truck Series had the track to themselves on Thursday for two practices. Johnny Sauter was the fastest in the final NASCAR Camping World Truck Series practice on Thursday. There were no practices on Friday. The only activity for the Trucks was qualifying. Unfortunately just before qualifying was to begin a steady rain came to the Chicagoland Speedway.

NASCAR set the field for the Lucas Oil 225 by the rule book. The starting lineup will be set by practice speeds during the final practice on Thursday. Johnny Sauter was the fastest at 176.540 MPH.

Since Erik Jones practiced the No. 51 Dollar General Toyota for Kyle Busch, Busch will have to start the race at the rear of the field. It is going to be exciting watching him drive through the field to the front as that truck was fast in both practices.

The rest of the top ten are Brennan Newberry, Jeb Burton, Austin Dillon, Ryan Blaney, Darrell Wallace Jr., Kyle Busch, German Quiroga, Matt Crafton and Timothy Peters.

If you cannot get to Chicagoland Speedway for the Lucas Oil 225 it will be broadcast on Fox Sports 1 starting at 8 PM ET.

Brian Berg Jr. is a NASCAR writer for BehindPitRow.com.

Feature Photo Credit: 300740 Rainier Ehrhardt/NASCAR via Getty Images


The Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Starts at Chicagoland

NASCAR doesn’t visit the Chicago area often. This weekend all three of the top NASCAR series comes to Chicagoland Speedway in Joliet Illinois for three days of racing.

Friday night, the Camping World Truck Series races under the lights for the Lucas Oil 225. The weather is expected to be cold in Joliet at race time but with no threat of rain it will be perfect for racing. In fact because of the cold weather the speeds will be some of the fastest the Truck Series has run there. Wisconsin native, Johnny Sauter followed by perennial Truck Driver Matt Crafton are at the top of the standings and are expected to run well. They have their work cut out for them as Kyle Busch and teammate Darrell Wallace Jr., who have won half the races this season, will both be in the race.

Saturday afternoon, the Nationwide Series takes to the track for the Jimmy John’s Freaky Fast 300 Powered By Coca-Cola. Rookie driver and three time winner, Chase Elliott leads the standings and is expected to contend for the win. He also has his work cut out for him because many Sprint Cup regular drivers are interloping in this Series because they are at the same track. Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch have won seven races combined in this series out of 25 races.

Sunday afternoon in the MyAFibStory.com 400, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series has the spot light nationwide because this race is the start to the prestigious Chase for the Sprint Cup. This year sixteen drivers are contending for the Championship. In order of their seeding, Brad Keselowski, Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jimmie Johnson, Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick, Carl Edwards, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin, Kurt Busch, Kasey Kahne, Aric Almirola, A.J. Allmendinger, Matt Kenseth, and Ryan Newman. The first seven of these drivers have won multiple races this season and stand to figure prominently at Chicagoland.

One cannot win the Championship at Chicagoland but one can lose it. This year four drivers will be eliminated from contention after the third race in the Chase. Essentially if any one of the sixteen drivers does not run well at Chicagoland they risk certain elimination after the Series leaves Dover Delaware.

Look for many show cars and driver appearances around the Chicago area prior to the events at the speedway in Joliet. NASCAR will be everywhere.

The weather is expected to be cool and dry which should lead to some of the fastest racing the Chicagoland Speedway has ever seen. Tickets are still available. Visit http://www.chicagolandspeedway.com to find out more.

Brian Berg Jr. is a NASCAR writer for BehindPitRow.com.

Feature Photo Credit: 290409 Jeff Zelevansky/NASCAR via Getty Images



NASCAR Season Begins with ARCA Racing at Daytona

The 2014 NASCAR Season begins with the ARCA Racing Series race at Daytona International Speedway. Well maybe it is a stretch saying the NASCAR season begins with an ARCA race; especially since NASCAR teams will have already been on the track for practice, but it can be said that NASCAR seasons of the future begin with that same race.

Each and every year the ARCA Racing Series race at Daytona has young new drivers entered in it who are on their way to each of NASCAR’s top series.

Ryan Newman won this race in 2001 on his fast track to the Sprint Cup Series, running an ARCA, Busch and Cup Schedule that year. Kyle Busch won in 2004 in preparation for his move to the Sprint Cup Series.

Last year John Wes Townley won this race while trying to find his way into NASCAR. Kyle Larson who will run his first NASCAR Sprint Cup season in the No. 42 Target Chevy for Ganassi Racing finished second. Darrell Wallace, Jr. (Bubba) was also in this race last year but had a crash early. These are just a sampling of future NASCAR stars that were in the race last year.

Even though many up and coming NASCAR stars are racing in this event they still have to contend with the regular ARCA Racing Series drivers. Each and every year they have to contend with Bobby Gerhart. Gerhart has won a record eight Daytona races including three in a row in 2005-2007 and 2010-2012.

Record Ten time ARCA Series Champion Frank Kimmel will try yet again to win his first Daytona race after being shut out each and every year. If he could win it would be every bit as emotional as when Dale Earnhardt won his Daytona 500.

This year future NASCAR stars Jeb Burton, Chase Elliott, and Dylan Kwasniewski will battle the ARCA veterans. They are trying to get valuable experience prior to starting their new rides this season in the Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series. John Wes Townley will also be back to defend his win from last year.

The Lucas Oil 200 presented by MAVTV American Real at Daytona International Speedway is Saturday, February 15th. If you can’t get to Daytona International Speedway, the race will be shown live on Fox Sports 1 beginning at 4 PM ET.

Brian Berg Jr. is a NASCAR writer for BehindPitRow.com.

Follow him on Twitter @brian_jr1 during the race and throughout the week for more NASCAR news and commentary, or on Facebook, Pinterest, and Google.