Tag Archives: Jimmy John’s Freaky Fast 300

Kevin Harvick uses Strategy to Win the Freaky Fast 300 at Chicagoland

Kevin Harvick won the NASCAR Nationwide Series Freaky Fast 300 at Chicagoland Speedway by better pit strategy than Kyle Busch.

Brian Scott won the Coors Light Pole Award and led the field to the green flag in Jimmy John’s Freaky Fast 300 Powered by Coca-Cola. He only led the first five laps then it became the Kyle Busch show.

From the fifth lap until lap 154 of 200 Kyle Busch controlled the race only giving up the lead during pit stops. Each and every restart he held off the challengers including Kevin Harvick from taking the lead.

On lap 153 the number 51 of Jeremy Clements lost an engine and put oil down on the track. Everyone pitted for tires and fuel. Busch’s team opted for four tires while some cars stayed out and other took two tires. Busch found himself sixteenth at the restart on lap 159.

The rest of the field battled on the restart with Kevin Harvick driver of the No. 5 Jimmy John’s car prevailed two laps later and never lost the lead.

On lap 166 Kyle Busch’s teammate, Denny Hamlin lost an engine and put down lots of oil on the track. Busch had already driver up to eighth and appeared to be on his way to taking back the race that would most surely be his to win. It didn’t happen. Busch lead 141 laps of 200.

The race restarted on lap 173 with Kevin Harvick staying out. Kyle Busch drove his No. 54 car hard up to third place but could not pass Kyle Larson in the No. 42 when he finally got to him.

Harvick said, “This Guy (Ernie Cope No. 5 Crew Chief) is the one who won the race today. He made a great call with two tires and the 54 got buried in the field and it felt like at that particular point it was our race to lose and our car ran faster on two tires than it did on four. Just really excited and I feel like I learned a lot today just looking forward to tomorrow as well.

Kyle Larson was second followed by Kyle Bush, Ryan Blaney and Trevor Bayne.

The highest finishing rookie was Ty Dillon. Chase Elliott finished tenth and retains the series points lead over Regan Smith by 18 points.

Brian Berg Jr. is a NASCAR writer for BehindPitRow.com.

Feature Photo Credit:  301538 Nick Laham/Getty Images

Brian Scott won the Coors Light Pole Award at Chicagoland Speedway

Brian Scott was the fastest in qualifying and will lead the field to green Saturday September 13th in the NASCAR Nationwide Series Jimmy John’s Freaky Fast 300 Powered by Coca-Cola at Chicagoland Speedway.

The Nationwide series had only one practice on Friday due to the weather. Brian Scott wasn’t the fastest in practice but was the fourth fastest with a speed of 177.206 MPH. His team was able to adjust on the car and improve on that greatly. Scott was able to put down a lap of 181.409 MPH in order to capture the Coors Light Pole Award.

In the first round of qualifying, Ty Dillon No. 3, Kevin Harvick No. 5, Denny Hamlin No. 20 and Kyle Busch No 54 were late in getting through technical inspection. All except Hamlin were able to lay down fast laps and make it to the last round in qualifying. Denny Hamlin ended up qualifying 20th in the second Round.

In the first round Scott drove the No. 2 RCR Shore Lodge Chevrolet to ninth at 178.483 MPH. He improved in the second round to third at 181.305 MPH saving his best for the Round. This was Scott’s fifth pole in 168 NASCAR Nationwide Series Starts and his third at the Chicagoland Speedway.

The rest of the top five are Ryan Blaney No 22, Kyle Busch, Chase Elliott No 9 and Kyle Larson No 42. Chase Elliott, the current series point’s leader was the highest qualifying rookie.

Carl Long, Mike Harmon, and Morgan Shepard did not qualify and will not race.

If you cannot get to Chicagoland Speedway for the Jimmy John’s Freaky Fast 300, it will be broadcast on ESPN2 starting at 3:30PM ET.

Brian Berg Jr. is a NASCAR writer for BehindPitRow.com.

Feature Photo Credit:  Emmett Bird